Spidurmunkey


Michael Copon Interview

I really wasn’t going to post this. Only because I a little peeved. But, I need to post it anyway. Just so you all know what’s going on. JustJaredJR. has posted an article where Michael Copon discusses Jacob. I have no comments on this  -_-

Looks like Michael Copon and Taylor Lautner will be duking it out for the role of Jacob Black!

Michael, 26, just spoke with J-14 to talk about nabbing himself the perfect part in New Moon, the upcoming sequel to Twilight.

On what he’s been doing to prepare: I feel like I need to bulk down. Right now I’m close to 200 pounds of muscle. Taylor’s [Lautner] probably what, 140, if he’s lucky? I’m already 200 pounds, so there’s no need for me to get any bigger. Plus he’s 5′6″ and I’m 6′2″. In the book, he grows eight inches and I’m exactly eight inches taller than Taylor. Huge difference.

On why he should get the role of Jacob Black: I have nothing against Taylor personally. I think he’s great and tremendous at what he does. But it’s just adjusting to the fact that Jacob has to grow. It’s a matter of going with the storyline. It goes with the territory. I see so much in Jacob Black that I feel like wasn’t brought to the first film that if I had the opportunity, I would totally create an amazing character.

On the books: I’ve read the first one and I’ve dabbled through the Cliffs Notes of the second and third ones. I haven’t had time to actually sit down and read the whole book, but I kind of know what happens.

Check out the rest of the Q&A with Michael @ here.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

okay if you haven’t read all the books you shouldn’t be able to decides who plays jake. taylor has done a terrific job and should rightly derserve and has earned the role of jake. As long as he is taller than kirsten (bella) you wont be able to notice that he is not a giant anyway the same people should be used so people realise its the same story and it just confuses people Go Taylor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment by courtz

CLIFF NOTES!!!! THERE ARE NO, I REPEAT NO CLIFF NOTES FOR NEW MOON!!!!! Goes to show how UNqualified he is for the role of jacob Black in New Moon. AND IT IS NOT TWILIGHT 2!! IT IS NEW MOON!!!!
RE-SIGN TAYLOR LAUTNER AS JACOB BLACK IN NEW MOON.We need someone intelligent, dedicated, responsible, and more mature than this 26 arrogant,dumb,can’t act fool that Michael Copon is.

Comment by jd

michael copon is an idiot. we want you to also be able to act. copon may be 200lbs but can you act. not from what i’ve seen. Sharkboy is better than your power ranger.

Comment by mm

ugh…by the way he talks.. if they will replace taylor with him..i probably will not watch new moon at all. i dont’ care if taylor is short or anything. i think he played Jacob really well

Comment by Fiona

I think if their going to replace Taylor and stick to the story.They should at least find a Native American to play the part of a Native! For us Native Americans,its kinda disappointing to see other ethnicity’s play our parts.There are so many Native Americans world wide that would fit the bill and that would kill for that chance.All they have to do is look.

Comment by Dee

Was this interview real??? No actor is ignorant enough to be this arrogant. I can’t believe it’s real… Is there a link to the official article?? I am pro-Taylor, but this makes Michael sound so unbelievably arrogant. I’ve heard that he’s actually a nice guy (this hasn’t changed my opinion that Taylor should still play Jacob).

Comment by Kat

I have finished the 4 books of stephanie meyer and I could not imagine that taylor will be replace my a new actor named michael. Even in the last book although jacob was described as a tall and bigger person, he was still a kid and he is somehow ment for Bellas daughter, if they put an older guy it will be strange to imagine someone else to portray that character which really fits to taylor.

Comment by Thess

What a cocky ass

Comment by mart

cute. but what a jerk.

Comment by christina

I don’t have anything against Michael Copon by any means….But, I would have to agree with everyone else as far as keeping the same Cast. I think Taylor Lautner did an AWESOME! Job playing the role of Jacob Black! I feel that Taylor deserves to continue his role. Besides with all the computer technology that we have these days….I’m sure something can be done if Taylor wasn’t able to bulk up as much as they need him too.
My Vote Is For TAYLOR LAUTNER as Jacob Black!!!

Comment by Erin

is this interview for real? does he really said those things? is he really that arrogant or someone who just want Taylor to be retain in the movie did this so more people will hate Michael Copon. i’m just asking coz i really can’t believe that he can be that bad.

Comment by kimpoy

taylor is doesn’t fit the description in the book. get real people. jacob’s supposed to be handsome, tall, bulky and a love interest material.

Comment by cherva




Leave a Reply

